Ogun State Independent Electoral Comission.

Section 197 (1) {b} of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999 (as amended) provides for the establishment of State Independent Electoral Commissions.  In furtherance of the Constitution, the Ogun State House of Assembly enacted the Ogun State Independent Electoral Commission Law, 2001.

The Ogun State House of Assembly, in furtherance of its constitutional duty, also enacted The Ogun State Electoral Law 2007 (as amended) to make provisions for the conduct of elections, for offences and their penalties and the determination of questions relating to the elections.  Indeed, Section 41 of the Electoral Law, 2007 (as amended) empowers the State Independent Electoral Commission to provide guidelines for educating the electorate and the public in general on the conduct and procedure guiding the Local Government elections.


Subject to the provisions of the above Law, the general supervision of the conduct of an election in the 20 Local Government areas of the state shall be vested in the Commission, in accordance with the provisions of the Laws or any other enactment, regulations, guidelines, rules or manuals issued or made by the Commission thereof. The Commission shall also render such advice as it may consider necessary to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on the compilation of the register of voters for the Local Government election in the State.




Babatunde Adetona Osibodu was a Solicitor of the Supreme Court of Nigeria as well as England and Wales, with an experience spanning over 35 years. He served as Secretary/General Counsel and Chief Legal Adviser to Polaris Bank Limited and is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators of Nigeria.

He obtained an LLB (Hons.), and LLM, from the University of Lagos, respectively. He has also attended various Professional Development Courses over the years. He is currently the Chairman, Ogun State Independent Electoral Commission.



Akoni Olatunji was a Teacher with immense impact for almost two decades (1985-2004), before he was made Electoral Officer, Local Government Elections, covering (2004, 2007, 2012 and 2016). Obafemi- Owode Local Government- Ogun State Independent Electoral Commission (OGSIEC). He is a Cisco Networking Lifetime Achievement Award Winner.

 Akoni is an alumnus of the Ogun State University (Now Olabisi Onabanjo University), Ago-Iwoye, obtaining a Diploma in Computer Science and Bachelor of Science Degree B.Sc (Ed.) Biology with minor in Integrated Science in 1996 and 1997 respectively. Akoni contributed in no small measure to the establishment of the four ICT-Based Polytechnics in Ogun State and the day-to-day running of Ogun SchoolNet and South West Resource Centre and placing it on sound footings. He is a Commissioner in the Ogun State Independent Electoral Commission.



Omolaja is an Alumnus of the Ogun State University, now Olabisi Onabanjo University (OOU), Ago-iwoye, where he earned his Bachelors of Arts (BA) Degree in Philosophy. He is a Commissioner in the Ogun State Independent Electoral Commission (OGSIEC).

Tajudeen Omolaja is a Fellow, Institute of Corporate Management of Nigeria, Member, Nigerian Institute of Management, Member, International Federation for Electoral System (IFES), Member, Society for Human Resources Management (SHRM), Member, Public Management and Policy Association. He was Deputy Director, Employment Relation at the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).



Ayodele Bankole possesses proven expertise in Brand Marketing & Communication, Sales/Demand Management, Business Development, Logistics, Oil Trading and Product Procurement; Terminal Operations and Downstream Business horned in several organizations including, LINTAS LAGOS; WONDERFOODS Nigeria Limited (PROMASIDOR); CONOIL PLC; Overage Energy Ltd; IBILE Oil &  Gas Corporation (Lagos State Ministry of Energy & Mineral Resources) and Mike Adenuga Group, where he retired as a Director of Strategy and Adviser to the Board.

He holds a Bachelors of Arts Degree (BA) (Second Class Upper Division) in English from Ogun State University, now Olabisi Onabanjo University (OOU) Ago-Iwoye, and an MBA in Marketing from Delta State University, respectively. He is an Alumnus of the prestigious Oxford Princeton, UK. where he earned a certification in Oil and Gas Trading. He is currently a Commissioner in the Ogun State Independent Electoral Commission.



Gbemi Onasanya is a seasoned Administrator. She retired as Principal-General in the Ogun State Teaching Service Commission (TESCOM), a position equivalent to that of a Permanent Secretary in the mainstream Civil Service.

She is an Alumnus of the prestigious University of Ibadan, where she obtained a Bachelors of Education (Hon.) degree (English and Religious Studies) at the Second Class, Upper Division. She has an enviable track record of 35 years of demonstrated expertise with several laudable accomplishments to her credit. Her functional expertise cut across Administration and Management, Social Policy Development, System Turnaround and Development, Institutional Training, Organisation and Leadership. Gbemi Onasanya is a Commissioner in the Ogun State Independent Electoral Commission.



Remilekun Olaopa began her legal career in the prestigious firm of Chief Afe Bababola SAN and later the firm of Ajumogobia (former Minister of Petroleum) and Okeke (former Ambassador to Brazil) one of the top ten commercial Law firms in Nigeria, where she rose to the position of Associate Partner before leaving in 2009 to start her own firm- Babajide & Olaopa in partnership with her brother, Mr. Ibukunolu Babajide.

She earned an LLB degree and LLM from the Obafemi Awolowo University Ile-ife and the University of Lagos, respectively. She is a member of the Chartered Institute of Arbitration (MCI Arb), United Kingdom and a Notary Public for Nigeria. She is the Yeye-Mofin of Ilaro-Yewa and is currently a Commissioner in the Ogun State Independent Electoral Commission (OGSIEC).


Permanent Secretary

Mrs. Mojisola Dosunmu was employed as an Industrial Promotion Officer in the then Ministry of Commerce & Industry of Ogun State Civil service in June 1987. She rose through the ranks and was appointed a Permanent Secretary on the 1st of September 2016.

She served as Permanent Secretary, Bureau of Establishments and Training, Teaching Service Commission before assuming the same position in the Ogun State Independent Electoral Commission (OGSIEC) on the 1st September 2020.

Mrs. Dosunmu is an Alumnus of the prestigious University of Ibadan, she bagged Bachelor of Science Degree (B.Sc Hons) in Economics.